It’s that time again…

AndyJacksonI’ll unplug the MacBook tomorrow at about 3 p.m. and won’t be active online until August 17th. Call it a cyber-vacation.

I may check email from time to time, and I’ll respond to student “emergencies.” But no tweets, no blogging, and no Facebook. And I won’t be reading any academic or business books — just this Andy Jackson biography and a trash novel or two.

Fall semester brings challenges as the PR faculty at Kent State continue to reshape the curriculum to reflect a changing communication landscape. I’ll talk about those changes in a future post. But for the next few weeks, I don’t plan to think about any of it.

4 Responses to It’s that time again…

  1. Breeze says:

    What qualifies as a “trash” novel? Is this just shorthand for reading for pleasure?

  2. Bill Sledzik says:

    I read history for pleasure. I read “trash” when I don’t want to think. Since my life is a fantasy already, I have little need for “escape” through literature🙂

  3. Chuck Hemann says:

    How was this book on Jackson? One of the more fascinating figures in American history.

  4. Bill Sledzik says:

    Only got started at the end. Not much sit-down time on this vacation. Very active.

