Power of Facebook comes through at “You Too”

fb2.png

If you believe in the power of Facebook, then the snowstorm pummeling the Midwest right now is all my fault. I’ve been praying to the Facebook gods for one last blast of winter. One last chance for some Nordic ski action. One last shot of chilly wind to the face. Ahhhh.

My Facebook status updates this past week:

March 6: Bill is waxing those skis. Oh yeah. Bring it on! 10:43 p.m.

March 5: Bill would give anything for one more good snow — just one more. Kick, glide. Kick, glide. 10:46am

March 8: Bill is thanking the Facebook gods for delivering a great snow storm. Awesome! Totally awesome! 11:17 a.m.

I love the white stuff and see too little of it in the semi-tropical climate of Northeast Ohio. It hardly ever snows here, no matter what the natives tell you. They’re wimps.

youtoo.jpgThe storm, which promises to pile up a foot or more by tomorrow, began midway through yesterday’s “You, Too Social Media Boot Camp” at Kent State. It’s been coming at us ever since and was so bad this morning that my wife’s firm – CPAs staring a chaotic tax season square in the face – were forced to take the day off. (Plug: Yes, they are accepting new clients! I can connect you!)

Because I had 3 presentations in the conference, I didn’t attempt to blog about it. Fact is, I saw little of the show. And when it was over the only thing on my mind was Ray’s Place and a pint or three of Burning River Pale Ale.

Three tables of the PRKent faithful gathered at Ray’s, ignoring the snow, and the hazards that came with it. It was like old times, except the smokers had to go outside.

You can check out some of the Twitter chatter on this conference if you’d like. Forgive me, but I still don’t get that part of social media and probably never will. But I did enjoy this one from Luke Armour, one of our presenters yesterday:

picture-1.png

I’ll make sure the presenters’ slides get up on SlideShare by early in the week. I’ll post a link here, and I’m sure PRSA will send it via email to all who registered for the event.snowman.jpg

But for now I’m just enjoying the snow and thinking about shoveling a bit of it. It’s too deep and drifted to ski right now, so maybe I’ll just sit back and watch it pile up.

I’m with Frosty, here. I love this stuff.

For some shots of the snow, check out this set on Flickr.

9 Responses to Power of Facebook comes through at “You Too”

  1. Shelley Prisco says:

    It’s amazing how different people can be. I hate all of this snow, but at the same time, I’m used to it. I’d rather deal with this than hurricanes. At least people’s homes, cars and other belongings stand a chance of remaining in one piece.

    I find it funny that you wished for this kind of weather. Did you enjoy the ice storm that we had this past week? It was crazy and threw off my entire week. But that’s just me.

  2. Bill Sledzik says:

    Hey, even skiers hate ice, Shelley! But we didn’t get much of it here. But it was your ice in Ashtabula that set off my Rave Alerts this past week. See previous post.

  3. Breeze says:

    Thanks for that snow, Bill. It made getting out of Dodge an adventure this morning. 😉

    We had a great time yesterday, and learned a lot. Thanks also for the mini-tour of Franklin Hall; that’s a really impressive facility.

    It was like old times, indeed. I got a chance to stroll around campus for the first time in about 10 years… and, of course, going to Ray’s was the icing on the cake.

    Thanks again for having us!

  4. Abby says:

    Bill,
    I will say I am very sad I did not get to attend the Social Media Bootcamp. I kept reading Kait and Luke’s twitter comments all day about how awesome it was. I am glad everything went well and I can’t wait to hear the re-cap from ms. swanson. Now, as for this snow. I am glad you got the snow you have dreamed about for so very long. I hate snow and everything about winter in general. But, since I have nothing better to do, I decided to crack open some Yeunglings and go sledding with some friends. It makes for a great day!! I will be thinking of you with every beer that I drink–Enjoy your snow day!

  5. I’ll shower you with the usual praise just as soon as the engine blows on my snowblower. I’ve been at it all day.

    Move the conference to Orlando next year, pretty pretty please. Breeze must have a grill by now.

  6. […] And to make matters worse, he is rubbing our shovels in it. Read his ToughSledding blog. […]

  7. Breeze says:

    Move the conference to Orlando next year, pretty pretty please. Breeze must have a grill by now.

    I sure do. And a pool. Come on down!

  8. Steve in Jersey says:

    Hey Bill:

    Your prayers to the Facebook gods got me snowed in at CLE until today🙂

    All the same, I enjoyed the conference and the pints at Ray’s. Wish I had more time to stay at Rays.

    Hope you keep the conference a regular event. Count on BL’s support!

    Steve

  9. Bill Sledzik says:

    Sorry about that, Steve. I wonder how John Elsasser made out. A regular conference isn’t the worst idea. Thanks for your support.

