Is it just me, or have PR blogs lost their wind?

enlarge_cph3c10697.jpgDo you feel it?

Me neither.

It’s sometimes as tough to sense inertia as it is to overcome it. But it’s happening here in the PR blogosphere. I just know it.

I didn’t think much about the lull in our conversations until Judy Gombita pointed it out last week. She’s right. There’s not much of substance in the online discussions of public relations, especially those focused on social media. And what IS going on seems, well, a bit stale and contrived. It has me longing for the days of the Edelman-Walmart scandal or the once-edgy essays of Strumpette.

Are we dead in the water? Have we lost our wind?

Here’s some evidence from my world: The most popular post on this blog over the past three days is the “About Me” page. My previous post — the one that shares advice on media relations from Web 2.0 influencer Tom Foremski — drew not a single comment and only 73 page visits, about 30% of normal for new posts.

By contrast, I built a page on my homeowners’ association blog this past Saturday to help neighbors sell their home. It drew 150+ visits.

Hey, maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think so. I scanned the feeder this past weekend to see if the inertia problem is more widespread.

Todd Defren, a guy I consider the most perceptive of the Web 2.0 practitioner-bloggers, wrote a post encouraging us to vote in the primaries. It’s a heartfelt message, but hardly a conversation starter.

Brian Solis yesterday tells readers that his “Social Media Manifesto” post is up for a SEMMY award as one of the year’s best blog posts. Hardly earth-shattering news, though it should drive up Brian’s page views as readers go back to check it out. I read it the first time.

Geoff Livingston (at Now Is Gone) this past weekend was touting the latest review for his book. Good for book sales, perhaps, but hardly important in the overall dialog of the PR blogosphere. (In fairness, Geoff’s post today at Buzz Bin, co-authored and cross-posted by Jason Falls, offers a lot of useful information on word-of-mouth marketing.)

Shel Holtz today is talking about Uttrerz, a site that lets you “share a thought impulsively by recording it over the phone. The recording is saved to a profile where those who choose to follow you are notified that you have a new Utter.”

I read Shel all the time, in part, because he keeps me abreast of the cool new stuff. But his post has me wondering if all this micro-messaging on Twitter, Seesmic, Utterz, et. al., has pulled some of our thought leaders away from the in-depth conversations — you know, the kind you used to find on good old-fashioned blogs.

It’s so much easier to just utter and tweet.

I hope the bloggers I cite here don’t take offense. They’re on my feeder because I learn from their insights. But lately I’m just not seeing as much substance in the “lessons” that any of us post. And because I’m a teacher, this worries me.

Something tells me this post, like the one before it, won’t spark much conversation. I tell you, we’ve lost our wind.

##########

Artwork is from the Prints & Photograph Division of the Library of Congress in is titled, “Becalmed in the Bering Sea.”

42 Responses to Is it just me, or have PR blogs lost their wind?

  1. Bill: Now Is Gone is about the book and continuing the discussion it began. In all fairness book reviews are part of that discussion.

    We have a very clear editorial missions for both of my blogs, and I think we’re doing just fine in our attempts to serve the industry. You can find those missions here: http://www.livingstonbuzz.com/blog/2007/06/12/creating-social-media-content-use-an-editorial-mission/

    If you or others don’t like Now Is Gone’s content, they should simply unsubscribe. A blog’s success is measured by its active readership. Not kvetching about a book blog and its reviews.

  2. I think this can be attributed to several factors. One, many of the individuals you cite have businesses to run–and, they seem to be very busy. Geoff has tweeted about his talent recruitment efforts, as has Todd Defren. They are busy doing great work for clients, and yes, twittering about it…but, that too is important. The second factor is that as new tools come about, it is incumbent upon all of us in this space to know, understand, and participate in them, and there are only so many hours in the day. After the lull of the holidays, many businesses do hit full steam in January-February; it’s my feeling that many of us are crunched for time.

    In fact, several of those listed have very generously contributed thoughtful pieces to Media Bullseye, for which we are truly grateful.

    Things will level off eventually, I think, and we’ll see the same insightful posts we’ve come to count on!

  3. Jason Falls says:

    I would only differ in that I don’t think we have lost our wind (yes, I say “we” … I’m a PR guy buy trade even though my focus is on social media), but only think it has calmed a bit. The recent conversation on the use, purpose and positioning of the social media release is very much a public relations conversation, for instance. I feel like it is an important PR tool moving ahead in this world if integrated “new” media.

    But there are a number of other issues public relations professionals should be discussing and you’re right, the buzz around the profession is soft.

    Selfishly, I wish PR folks were talking more and more about social media. It is my contention it is the new PR … PR for the information age. But the changing landscape of media (to social or not), ethics, crisis management and more are all hot topics we could and should discuss more.

    Why don’t we challenge each other to do so? Pick a topic, express your opinions about it then pick five colleagues you’d like to chime in. Start a meme. If the wind isn’t moving our ship, let us start blowing into the sails ourselves. I’ll give it some thought. You should, too.

  4. Bill Sledzik says:

    Thanks, Jason. I guess it’s a matter of perspective. From where I sit, social media dominate the conversation in the PR blogosphere. I long for conversation and insights that go beyond SM — such as the perspectives of my favorite PR blogger, Jim Horton. No one thinks AND links like Jim.

    It’s only natural that PR discussions in the blogs focus on social media. It’s something we’re all interested in. But it’s important to remember that social media are tactics that help us reach objectives for our clients and employers. They’re part of a picture that’s far bigger than a blog post or a tweet.

    This post isn’t intended to diminish the importance of SM in the future of PR or marketing. SM is a tool we all must use and master. But it’s still a tactic, and only part of the PR process.

  5. Bill Huey says:

    There’s entirely too much politesse on blogs, because PC Thinking has invaded them and, as Eric Dezenhall has noted, too many PR people are
    “hooked on agreeability.”
    For example, this post on Kami Huyse’s blog: http://itsnotalecture.blogspot.com/2007/07/open-letter-to-mommy-bloggers.html
    As Kami notes, there will be blog consolidation soon, and many of the smaller sails now stealing the wind will disappear, capsized by a few SuperBlogs
    If you can’t say, “Sean Hannity is an off-the-street, no-talent motormouth,” with a smile, there’s no place for you in blogosphere, PR or otherwise.

  6. Rob Jewell says:

    Bill,

    This to me is an interesting and important topic. And I am going to approach it from somewhat of a different perspective. I just recently started blogging. One reason is that it’s important in the classroom to be able to talk to students based to the extent possible on personal experience. But I’ve been reading public relations blogs for about the last two years or so. Many of the writers — like Shel Holtz — have helped me to understand social media: the good, bad and ugly. By the way, I would include you on that short list — which is true — but I don’t want to come off as being too much of a suck-up.

    But here’s the point. Public relations in my view is a fairly static industry. And I don’t mean that as a criticism. Rather, the principles that define effective public relations — ethical conduct, helping an organization build and maintain relationships, and fair, honest, accurate communication — were every bit as important 30 or more years ago as they are today. The challenge is to apply those principles while taking advantage of the tactical advantages potentially offered by social media and other new and emerging technologies.

    Maybe one of the reasons PR blogs “have lost their wind” is that we are still focusing primarily on tactics. From that standpoint, realistically, there is really only so much that you can say.

    Rob

  7. Bill Sledzik says:

    I’m one of those bloggers who tries way too hard to be polite, Bill. And some of my friends take me to task for it. Nothing wrong with civility, mind you, but in the PR blogosphere it too often gets in the way of honesty and serious discussion. We play nice, and we work not to offend. That’s not a conversation at all.

    But I’m torn, since I’m a practitioner who embraces the 2-way symmetrical model and a longtime disciple of Pat Jackson. Like Pat, I don’t fear confrontation and disagreement. Pat used it masterfully, but it was not his first choice of strategy. Pat focused on the relationship, not on the persuasive message. I know that’s an area of PR philosophy where you and I differ, Bill. But I’m happy to discuss it with you because I respect your opinions.

    Dezenhall is right when he points out in his book, “Damage Control,” that PR professionals are far too quick to compromise. But I also think Eric goes too far in touting the virtues of confrontation. His subtitle, “Why everything you know about crisis management is wrong,” is provocative, but it’s also incorrect and a little insulting.

    But we stand together on this, Bill: Too much of the “blog party” centers around playing nice-nice. It’s damned hard to have serious discussion when you couch your words in fear of offending someone and — God forbid — having them not link to you (gasp!). As you can see in the comments above, I managed to offended one blogger even though I went out of my way to compliment one of his posts while questioning a second.

    You can’t win in this game, but you gotta keep on playing.

  8. Bill — the blogs I read regularly focus less on the confrontation of the moment (but don’t shrink from it from time to time; see http://kdpaine.blogs.com/kdpaines_pr_m/2008/01/womma-calls-for.html and http://johnbell.typepad.com/weblog/2008/01/the-next-evolut.html for example.

    But the current paucity of comment is likely as Jen suggests — they’re busy. As value-added as social media might be in certain contexts, there is work outside that realm that surely takes precedence. In fact, the need to measure the effectiveness of social media demonstrates its current relationship to other PR activities.

  9. Bill Sledzik says:

    I know too well the pressures a real job can put on the blog, and I often wonder if this side gig called ToughSledding is worth my time. I know Katie’s blog well, but not John’s. Will add him to the feeder. Your endorsement is all I need.

    Hey, my emails to the new place have been bouncing back. Drop me a note so we can connect.

  10. Judy Gombita says:

    Of course there are still some targeted PR blogs that I continue to read (yours included), but the authors have to be discussing issues and areas that are actually related (to a large extent) to public relations. (A lot of blogs fly a PR flag or tagline, yet as far as I can see what the author does for a living has very little to do with the public relations function or skill set.)

    I’m not interested in a “PR” blog post where the author spends time airing personal grievances about a company’s customer service re: a product or service (would it surprise you to know I didn’t bother to read your post on that one?!), or waxes poetic about the newest bright shiny tech toy, social network, channel, cool online game or videos, stuff that is related totally to marketing (fercryin’outloud, marketing is not the same as public relations, nor is PR a subset of marketing), etc. To me, those kind of blog posts spell PR INERTIA.

    The part of my message that you didn’t include (not that I asked you to) was when I described attending several (non-social-media-related) events, documentary films, etc., where the speakers, participants and discussions were far more thought-provoking, interesting and of value to me (professionally and personally) than anything I’d seen or read in the social media realm of late.

    For example, I was told by Karen Dalton (ED of CPRS) that she received very positive feedback from several members about today’s peer-to-peer round table discussion on corporate governance–which CPRS members were invited to attend (in person or via a webcast). Direct Engagement (the host company) indicated that webcast registration came in from across Canada, as well as from the US, UK, Europe, Australia and Asia. Not really that surprising, considering that corporate governance is related to reputation management, accountability, transparency, etc…areas that a PR practitioner is usually involved in, to at least tp some extent. (Karen and I sat next to one another at the actual session, and we were both furiously scribbling notes throughout. And before you ask, I don’t think anyone in the room, attendees or media, was “live blogging” or “tweeting” the event.)

    But I guess corporate governance isn’t as sexy as bouncing around a meme from buddy blog to buddy blog, sharing a YouTube video of a band you loved in the ’80s, or some other “fun” thing.

    And in tribute to your post title, I’ll leave you now with a link to an appropriate song from one of the first bands I ever saw live in concert.

  11. Kami Huyse says:

    Bill; I think I am going to have to agree with you here. There always seems to be a lull this time of year.

    As for my own lull, I have never been so busy in my life and my blog suffers. I know that, but I try very hard to put one thinking piece up a week, and I simply post less. I have a lot to say though, things I have been learning of late out in the wild that have shifted my thinking in a couple of areas.

    Thanks for the challenge,

  12. mediatide says:

    Two possible reasons for “blog fatigue”:

    1. The same people read the same blogs. It’s akin to being stuck in a car with the same people on 12-hour trip. After two hours, everyone has run out of things to say. People start falling asleep or they tune others out by reading a book, or maybe they stare at the passing scenery. No matter, the conversation stops.

    2. Topics have to hit the “hot buttons.” My biggest post to date was a good-natured diss at Macs and Mac users. For some reason, a bunch of “Macolytes” got offended and either visited mysite or shot back an invective. But I comment on how satellite radio has some weak points…nada, nyet, zero, squat!

  13. Having recently re-entered the blogging world in earnest (reading, especially) after a little more than a year of veeeerry sloooooow innfreeequent posts (I had a baby), I do notice what you are saying. And yet, it has always been like this (well, IHMO always since 2003 since I entered) – waves come and go in terms of discussion.

    Personally, I’ve always fallen on the side of longer, think-y posts, but do you have any idea how long it takes to come up with them? I spent several hours reading and thinking before I posted on the debate about influentials last week, sparked by the Fast Company story. And another couple of hours thinking about control and influence as I participated in a debate with some of the people you mention here. And yes, most of my one-off thoughts and ideas now goes to Twitter instead of the blog.

    As Kami (a truly think-y poster) proposed – and I think it is a great idea – I will also try to do one good long thoughtful post a week. I hope you’ll come by and read.

  14. prmagnet says:

    Bill,

    I too see lack of any substance in many new PR blogs.

    As a PR student at the University of Oregon’s School of Journalism and Communication, I’ve learned that staying current with trends is vital everything. I don’t want to say that blogging is a trend, but with so many PR professionals – and amateurs – joining the blogosphere, it has become quite the challenge to gain attention and credibility.

    But how does a newbie to the blogopshere, such as myself, get attention?

    Unfortunately, two of the easiest ways to get attention: topics that hit the “hot buttons,” much like a shock jock does on the radio, and updating as often as possible so that Technorati and other search engines have your blog as close to the top of the search results as possible.

    But fresh, new content doesn’t mean quality content. The kind of quality content that can eventually turn a lonely PR blog into the next Shel Holtz. As you are probably well aware of, researching, planning, and writing 2 to 3 QUALITY blogs a week takes time. Time that many full-time PR professionals simply do not have. I mean, you wouldn’t recommend a client to start a blog if the client didn’t have the time to keep up with the demand. So then why would you?

    Substance is only going to come from PR professionals who have the time to write a blog that gains readership through good old-fashioned hard work. The same good old-fashioned hard work that created those “good old-fashioned blogs” that you mention in your entry.

  15. Bill Sledzik says:

    Wow. I guess I’m not the only one who noticed the lull in conversation about PR. Thanks to all, and my apologies for not being on top of this conversation. Like so many of you, I am intensely busy, and this blog is nothing more than a work-related hobby — probably not healthy, since hobbies should take you AWAY from work, shouldn’t they?

    Several notes, in reverse chronology if I may.

    First to PRMagnet. I don’t believe there is a way to have lasting impact with your blog unless you invest time in research, writing and editing. Good writing does still matter (though sometimes I wonder about that). To say relevant (and I hope I am) read the bloggers you consider insightful, but also clicking the many links they offer you. That’s where the real time comes in, but also where the adventure begins. That said, I draw more ideas from the MSM than from other bloggers, as those folks are paid to gather information and present it in timely fashion. For most PR bloggers, these sites are an avocation. I don’t do this for ROI, though I know some do.

    Elizabeth, thanks for the perspective. I’ve been reading blogs since ’04, but “doing” them only since ’06. I’m sure these lulls have occurred before, as you point out, but I failed to notice them. In fact I probably enjoyed having less “required reading” during those calms. I’ve stashed a couple of thoughtful, longish posts in the queue, and I gather information and links for them as I find the time. Perhaps this weekend to polish one up and get it out there. If we want the discussion to flourish, we all have to contribute.

    Andrew. Tell me about the hot buttons, man! I punched one a few weeks back with the “gender in PR” issue. Drew 47 comments at last count. Of course, that wasn’t intentional. It just touched a nerve. I don’t select topics simply because I think it’ll draw comments, but it’s nice to have something that interests people. That’s what it’s about here.

    Judy: Like you, I don’t see nearly enough discussion of core PR issues and values, and that is — in part — because the blogs that bill themselves as “PR” are in fact marketing discussions for the most part. They help their clients create buzz and move product. Nothing wrong with that, but it’s not part of the reputation/transparency/dialog issues we in PR hold dear. Unlike you, I don’t mind the occasional post that’s a little off topic or personal, as it gives me insight into the blogger. I try to tie mine to PR and communication issues (like the one about Time Warner and Amazon the other day). Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

    My friend Rob Jewell, who commented on this thread as well, touches on those “core” issues a lot. He spent 30 years in the corporate grind, a good bit of it reporting to an F-500 CEO. So I pay attention when he posts at PR On the Run. In his comment above, he points out something we all need to remember: There has not been much truly NEW in the PR landscape in the past 30 years — which is about the time we saw the emerging paradigm shift (I can’t believe I used that word, ugh!) to the symmetrical model. The tools and tactics have changed a good bit since I came into the biz. The objectives and strategies really haven’t.

  16. Kevin Dugan says:

    Twitter + holidays + real/day job…and we have what we have here “failure to communicate.” or to be more 2.0 about it all, but still paying homage to Cool Hand Luke…failure to conversate? As a result I have not been reading as much and did not realize it was an industry-wide malaise. Have faith, I for one will return.

  17. I’m with Kami on this topic, I think it has a lot to do with this time of year. I looked through my blog postings in January of ’07 and of ’06 and there was a marked decrease. PR folks have a fairly cyclical life and the new year brings many new projects and work that obviously is priority number one…blogging does take a bit of a backseat.

    I guess I’ll need to put my money where my mouth is as we move along on the calendar😉

    /kff

  18. John Cass says:

    Bill, now that Elizabeth is back, I am sure you will have plenty of opportunity to read some of the best posts in PR blogging.

  19. Sally Hodge says:

    Thank you, Bill, for putting your finger on something that has bothered me in the short time since this neophyte has jumped into the PR/marketing blogging community. I haven’t been into it long enough to know if PR blogs have “lost their wind,” but I have seen a lot of them that have no shortage of hot air.

    If bloggers want to push their books and their own agendas, God love them. But PR — at least the way we practice it — is supposed to be about the soft sell. You know. For all that blatant commercial stuff, you’re supposed to buy an ad, right? There’s a disconnect here, doncha think?

    Our blogging philosophy (and one that I thought was pretty universal) revolves around stimulating conversations in an authentic way. There’s plenty out there to riff on. And those that spare me the learned discourse and blatant sales are the ones I check back with, day-in and day-out.

  20. What hasn’t been said?

  21. Hey Bill,

    I do have a live Linkedin question: Is it better to “pitch” journalists before sending a news release?

    I might follow up it up with a post, but there’s still three days left. Sometimes I think we have to start our own conversations when we need them for class.

    Best,
    Rich

  22. Bill Sledzik says:

    I did see that question, Rich, but didn’t feel qualified to respond. I don’t pitch journalists anymore (he said with a smile), and I don’t have any recent research on the topic. Fact is, I always hated media relations. There. I said it.

    But your questions would make a good conversation. Were I journalist, I would want the release in hand as a reference point in our conversation. But that doesn’t help me if I have 37,000 messages in the inbox ala Tom Foremski, eh?

    BTW, I do little with LinkedIn, though I do approve networking requests. Facebook is a better place for me given what I do. Not sure how you remain so connected and still post solid content day in and day out. I guess it helps if you live in a city that never sleeps!

  23. Too funny. I always liked having releases too, er, assuming they were written well. It was always my first request if someone pitched me.

    I have a theory that therein lies the reason some journalists are asking for pitches. It’s less painful to read two butchered sentences than a page or two of them. For example: the first sentence in one release that students have to rewrite leads: The best just got bigger.

    Even funnier is your statement about media relations. What?!? There is difference? If there is, then you have discounted the theory that PR skill is measured by the size of a rolodex.

    As for my own social media activities. It’s just time management. I do sleep, really.😉

    Best,
    Rich

  24. Bill Sledzik says:

    I didn’t mean to be funny, but I guess that was a flip comment. I’m serious, though.

    I loathed pitching media, which is why I spent a good part of my career working with clients who were not media dependent. That way, we controlled message and timing, and we engaged people on our terms. We went direct — without mediation — by tapping into influencer groups, which in most industries are surprisingly small. Some of my clients worked very deliberately out of the media spotlight, not because we were hiding anything, but because we knew no one could tell the story as well as we could.

    When I talk to students media relations, I use the football analogy a lot: Pitching media is like the forward pass. Three things can happen, and two are bad. You might get a good story. But it’s just as likely the media will a) ignore the story or b) get it wrong.

    Sometimes we need to broadcast a message via media to build awareness. I just never liked that part of the game. My clients were companies serving niche markets, mostly. In your city — where the entertainment industries seek broad exposure — it’s a different story.

    Oh, yeah. I’m a horrible time manager, too.

  25. […] issue reared its head again as a non sequitur at the end of a long thread of comments on a recent Tough Sledding post. Author/moderator Bill Sledzik was gracious but apparently nonplussed: Dunno, he said. When he […]

  26. Todd Defren says:

    Hey Bill – Didn’t take offense. Just…So…Freakin…Busy…

    As one of your earliest commenters noted, in addition to blogging I have a business to run, teams to coach, clients to counsel, etc. Blogging is important to me both personally and professionally, but it will always come AFTER those other priorities.

    That said, today (at least), I tried to write something thoughtful (http://tinyurl.com/2qpyab).

    And I’ve got some juicy stuff planned in the near future (maybe something pretty good as soon as Monday).

    While I admit that we can all run outta steam for a bit, I actually think we PR bloggers can be proud of the fact that we’re still posting regularly. If you’d asked me 4 years ago (when I started) whether I’d be a blogger now, I’d have laughed out loud. Meanwhile, new guys come along (BuzzBin, Ignite, et al.) and are still able to stir the pot. I think we’re hale and hearty; just a little winded.

  27. […] out I’m not alone. Bill Sledzik from toughsledding.com posted something about this very topic earlier in the week. Comments on the above mentioned post postulate about why this is, but […]

  28. Bill Sledzik says:

    Todd,

    In another thread on another day, I’d love to hear if PR bloggers feel pressure to produce content. I’ve been at this only about 18 months and I don’t have nearly the readership you have. But I do feel the pressure to “feed the beast” at least once a week, and preferably 2-3 times. And I worry that if I don’t the readers will go away. And for some reason, it matters to me. Pretty vain, eh.?

    ToughSledding, along with those on my blogroll, are important teaching tools in ALL of my classes. So you can see why I get anxious when the conversation hits a bare spot. It’s not like two years back, when Foremski tried to murder the press release and you proposed such a creative solution. Ah, the good old days!

  29. John Ettorre says:

    Interesting thread here. But has anyone considered what to me seems the obvious possibility: that blogging about this subject seems a tad tiring because the subject itself, PR, can be quite a soul-deadening pursuit? I know a lot of PR people, including a handful whom I really respect (and one of them admires you as a mentor, Bill, and speaks of you highly). They’re smart, engaging, principled people. But it occurs to me that they remain that way despite their work, and the demands it sometimes makes on their better natures. Anyway, just a thought.

  30. Bill Sledzik says:

    Thanks, John. We all have those times when the business seems to get the better of us — or at least I did during my 16-odd years in the trenches. And this is a busy time for a lot of folks who are working on fresh budgets while also worrying about the toll a recession may take on them and their businesses. Yeah, it can be soul-deadening, indeed, and I count my blessing that my paycheck is reasonably secure.

    But isn’t it ironic that we now have over 30 comments on a post that did nothing but lament the fact that we don’t have anything to say? I think there’s a Steven Wright joke in there somewhere.

    I hope when next week arrives I can take up the challenge many have put forth in this thread. I pledge to toss out at least one thought-provoking idea that could have an impact on the public relations business. Warning: It will probably piss someone off. Right now, I think I need a beer.

  31. John Ettorre says:

    Good. I look forward to reading it.

  32. Todd Defren says:

    Bill, I absolutely positively feel huge sticky lumps of pressure to produce solid content 2 – 3X per week. I probably only succeed 1x per week (in a good week), but the pressure does not let up to make the attempt.

  33. Todd Defren says:

    p.s. Since you mentioned the Social Media Release in your last comment, check out today’s post at PR-Squared!😉
    http://tinyurl.com/377vwb

  34. Bill Sledzik says:

    I’ll watch for that content, Todd. I will say this: You do a helluva job keeping track of long threads. Thanks for hangin’ in.

  35. Ike Pigott says:

    Hi Bill — sorry to be late to the conversation, but I was enmeshed in some crazy crisis and disaster comms over the last several days.

    I actually have an answer for you, rooted in something my mother said the other day. It’s in the post I’m writing for tomorrow.

  36. Bill Sledzik says:

    I look forward to that, Ike. Sometimes I think the answer lies in something my wife asks to me almost daily: “Tell me again, how much do they pay you to do this blog?” I’ll tune in tomorrow. I’m busy like all, and woefully behind on the feeder.

  37. […] brings me to a question posed by Kent State Public Relations professor Bill Sledzik: “Is it just me, or have PR blogs lost their wind?” Bill seems to think the conversation about conversation is slowing. It might be because […]

  38. […] Bill. He’s going to have to suffer through another review of Now Is Gone, this time from Rich […]

  39. Greg Smith says:

    Damnit, Bill. I’m too busy writing courses.

  40. […] on Feb. 4 I said the PR blogsphere had “lost its wind.” Turns out I have, too. So I’m signing off until May 10. A that point I’ll reassess […]

  41. […] Have PR Blogs Lost Steam? Tough Sledding Bill Sledzik wonders if PR bloggers are starting to lose some momentum, growing distracted by all the latest shiny new things and moving away from the important conversations. I see his point to some extent, but I think what’s important is that it is those shiny things that may play a major role in the future of this industry, so why shouldn’t the thought leaders be discussing them as much as possible? “I hope the bloggers I cite here don’t take offense. They’re on my feeder because I learn from their insights. But lately I’m just not seeing as much substance in the “lessons” that any of us post. And because I’m a teacher, this worries me. Something tells me this post, like the one before it, won’t spark much conversation. I tell you, we’ve lost our wind.” […]

