Three posts in the hopper, but a million deer in the woods. What’s a blogger to do?

Just parked the last of three killer posts in the queue. They’ll have wait a week for editing and tightening, as I have things to do. It’s Thanksgiving here in the good old USA, and time to lay the digital world aside to focus on family, friends and food — in that order.

02_5_deer.jpgIt’s also deer season in the states where I hunt, which means its time to celebrate the bounty Mother Earth provides. It’s a time when I fill my freezer with all-natural, superbly organic meat — no hormones, no preservatives, and very little fat. Try to get that from some gnarly old Texas steer.

It may be hard for some readers to understand how this hardcore environmentalist can also be a gun-toting member of the deer-management posse. But it’s my tree-hugging genes that keep me headed back to the woods year after year.

Truth be known, I haven’t seriously “hunted” in years. I sit in a treestand and harvest from a deer population so abundant that wildlife managers in some states are hiring trained sharpshooters to cull the herd. Here’s one example.

I don’t view hunting as a blood sport. It’s a food sport, at least for me. We eat what we kill — every ounce of it. In the process we do our part to bring the ecosystem into balance. This isn’t popular with the PETA crowd, but PETA has never been much concerned with the balance of nature. PETA is about vegetarianism, something you’ll never consider once you’ve tried my venison chops. (I know that link is gonna be trouble, but what the heck.)

sask1a.jpgSay what you will, but I love God’s creatures — right next to the mashed potatoes. (Kudos to the Saskatoon restaurants for that wonderful line and to dullhunk for capturing this billboard and posting it to his Flickr page.)

I wrote about the PR problems associated with deer management way back in ’06. If it interests you, take a trip to the archives (here and here). Have a great holiday, and don’t hate me if your comments are delayed a bit. There is no wifi in my treestand.

12 Responses to Three posts in the hopper, but a million deer in the woods. What’s a blogger to do?

  1. Dino Baskovic says:

    Kill, Bill.

  2. Dino Baskovic says:

    Bambi, meet Rambo.

  3. Bill Sledzik says:

    Thanks for your thoughtful comments, gentlemen. They offer two things sorely lacking in the blogosphere these days: humor and brevity.

  4. Noah says:

    Bill,

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

    Noah

  5. abster says:

    So Bill, so surprising to see the picture of a deer in your post! My brother just got his first one of the season, you will have to check it out.
    http://s261.photobucket.com/albums/ii66/jlaner0408/.

    You will appreciate it.

    Thanks again for all the pep talks throughout the semester… I am finally DONE! yippee!

  6. Bill Sledzik says:

    You’re welcome, Kiddo. You did well in your final presentation Wednesday. Stick with the blog. It’ll help you fine-tune your online voice. As for the deer photo, note that the one in my picture is alive! “Trophy” shots make a lot of folks squeamish, as they prefer their meat neatly packaged in the butcher’s case. So I only put the dead deer on my Flickr and Facebook pages. It’s funny, but most folks are fine with dead fish. It’s just the mammals that put them on edge. Go figure.

  7. bigbucks11 says:

    i am doing a research project in school about deer managment. Our class has to come up with ways to lower the over population of white tail deer.
    Do you have any ideas???

    Yes I live in the country and hunt, so i am open to any suggestions.
    Thanks SK

  8. Bill Sledzik says:

    Thanks for dropping in, SK. There is a ton of literature out there on the deer management problem, but there is only one sure way to lower the population: You have to kill does. Killing females offends a lot of hunters who think there is something more sporting about shooting deer with horns. Not so. Each mature doe that survives this upcoming hunting season is likely to drop one or two fawns in the spring, further compounding the population problem.

    My students and I have studied the problem from a public relations perspective. “Killing Bambi” isn’t popular among the urban and suburban demographics, who often view hunting as brutal and inhumane. What is more inhumane is to allow the deer population to go unchecked, and to watch deer die from starvation or disease.

    And please don’t buy into those silly ideas of relocating deer to remote areas or darting them with contraceptives. Neither one is feasible, and both are potentially dangerous. Contact me directly if you’d like to discuss further. And I hope you bag a big doe this season.

  9. bigbucks11 says:

    thanks for the help and ideas! I greatly appriciate it!
    SK

  10. Bill Sledzik says:

    Glad to help. Tried to email you with more, but the message came bouncing back. My email link is in the left column if you want to chat off-site.

  11. […] season where I come from. I talked about it at last year, so if you’re so moved, visit my “million deer post.” Not much has […]

