Edelman New Media Summit Opens Today

I spent most of today biting the Big Apple. And it bit me back. My feet are killing me thanks to walking 140 or so blocks, just takin’ it all in and stayin’ outta trouble.

I’m no fan of New York City, mind you. I mean, how can you love a place with so many Yankee fans? That said, I’m happy as hell to be here, since I’ll be attending the Edelman New Media Academic Summit tonight and tomorrow. We should get an ear full of what Richard, Steve and the gang are up to, and we’ll hear from three dozen experts on various aspects of Web 2.0, including a number of them from the MSM.

I’ll plan to share the highlights of the conference here, but I don’t plan to “cover” it. And don’t look for any on-the-spot reports. When it comes to live blogging, I’m in league with Steve Crescenzo, though not nearly as funny.

I don’t see many bloggers on the guest list for this conference, as most attendees are academics. As I said back in March, the professors of PR haven’t embraced blogging in a meaningful way, and it’s a shame. Maybe that’ll change after this conference, but I’m not optimistic.

You see, blogging, or any type of self-edited writing, doesn’t count toward tenure or promotion, so it’s hard to justify the time you spend on it. The academy is a long way from seeing social media as scholarship under the “old school” rules. Like the rest of the world, academe will need to reinvent itself for the Web 2.0 world, and it’ll need to do so quickly. That, in large part, is why Edelman asked us all to come here.

In case you’re wondering, no, I won’t be painting the Big Apple red tonight. Day One of the conference ends at 9 p.m. this evening, after which I plan to grab a six-pack and scoot back to my room to watch the game.

Go Cavs!

5 Responses to Edelman New Media Summit Opens Today

  1. Steve Shannon says:

    Bill:

    You’re in NYC and you are going to watch a basketball game in your hotel room, sitting on your bed and drinking beer? Get thee to a sports bar Bill!

    Steve

  2. Bill Sledzik says:

    Been up since 4 a.m., and I’m old. Damned old. I’m in the room, and I didn’t even get the 6-pack. Don’t let this get back to the guys at Ray’s. It’ll ruin my rep.

  3. Brian Wooley says:

    Don’t let this get back to the guys at Ray’s. It’ll ruin my rep.

    I don’t want to burst your bubble, Bill, but… 😉

  4. Andy Curran says:

    So you didn’t go to eat at Boom on Spring Street…

    Oy, vay! New Yawk…you just gotta get out in the mix and attack it!

    At least you could have hopped the M train to catch your Buc-os against the Yankees!

    And, hey…there’s a lot of Mets fans there, too!

    How do weasel my way into this deal next year?

    I’ll just have to get up to Sandy Lake and talk some sense into you! And listen to some Steely Dan. Maybe week after next…

  5. […] Edelman New Media Summit Opens Today I?m no fan of New York City, mind you. I mean, how can you love a place with so many Yankee fans? That said, I?m happy as hell to be here, since I?ll be attending the Edelman New Media Academic Summit tonight and tomorrow. … […]

