Old white guys in power ties — Images speak volumes

bluesuits.jpg

OK, only half of the old white guys in the GOP presidential debate last night wore red power ties. John McCain went with power stripes. But all 10 wore blue or grey suits, the uniform of the corporate boardroom.

I’m not surprised. Back when I prepared clients to step before the TV cameras, I cautioned them to dress conservatively. Make sure YOU are the message, not your clothing or your jewelry. Blue suits work. Bling doesn’t.

I believe the old saw that a picture is worth a thousand words. But in this AP photo, borrowed from a collection I found here, I can only think of one word: Boring.

This photo say the GOP candidates march in lockstep. Does this make sense given the president’s popularity ratings? And aside from Rudy G, who said it would be OK if the Supreme Court upholds Roe v. Wade, the message of the GOP candidates is pretty much “same old, same old.”

Blue suits and power ties simply reinforce the words.

I’m not making a political statement here, just an observation about visual communication.

I kinda like Rudy Giuliani. McCain lost me long ago when he sold his soul to the likes of Jerry Falwell. As for the other 8, they all look the same to me. Maybe they should change their ties.

5 Responses to Old white guys in power ties — Images speak volumes

  1. Stacy Wessels says:

    The Republican party is all about conformity. They would never change their ties. Except maybe McCain, but only because he picked up a new one while shopping in Baghdad. Or Guiliani because he can’t commit. (The next tie might be better than this one.)

  2. Brian Wooley says:

    At least Rudy committed to wearing men’s clothing this time around. Now let’s see if he can manage not to get divorced before November ’08…

  3. Andy Curran says:

    It’s better to be the only one in the room who’s wearing a suit when everyone else is wearing t-shirts, shorts and flip-flops, than it is to be the only one in the room who’s wearing t-shirts, shorts, and flip-flops when everyone else is wearing a suit.

    Clunky sentence, but it’s true. I’ve been there. Well, I don’t wear flip-flops, but I wear sneakers. Same idea.

  4. Matt Smith says:

    That debate was a bore-fest Bill. It’s sad that in today’s political arena that with all the technology and ability to gather all kinds of information, we let our political leaders get by with the same boring agenda (circa 1992) and poring the airwaves with flip flopping. Candidates on BOTH sides of the isles are doing this like crazy this year. I’m already sick of the ’08 race and I used to work in politics for God’s sake!🙂

  5. […] Kasich spent the past 8 years as an investment banker with Lehman Brothers, which means his inner circle is a pretty well connected, some might even say elitist. By failing to be inclusive with his cabinet appointments, he perpetuates a view that his administration is ruled by cronies — or a group I call “old white guys in power ties.” […]

