Searching for lessons in Virginia Tech tragedy

fbpic.jpgThree times this week I labored to write a reflective post about the events at VT. But the words wouldn’t come. In one post I tried to examine VT’s crisis response. In another I attempted to review the long-term impact on VT and on other universities. I’ve decided not to publish any of it.

Forgive me, but I just can’t locate the teachable moment in this event. At least not yet.

I did take a lesson from my Facebook pals Stefanie and Kait, and I replaced my FB photo with the graphic you see here. Several times on this blog I’ve been critical of how students use and abuse Facebook. But last week, the social networking site became an important link for those at VT and elsewhere.

So maybe that’s the lesson you can take from this post — a lesson on how social media continue to bring us together. And if you’re a Kent State person with a Facebook page, copy this graphic and post it to your profile page.

4 Responses to Searching for lessons in Virginia Tech tragedy

  1. Aniisu says:

    Chanced upon your blog from the Intranet Blog. I blog from India and read your views on the tragedy. It is very shocking for us also in India to hear of this news. Our prayers are with those who lost their near and dear ones.

    I quite agree with you about the extent with which new media/social media can connect us and make a difference in communicating effectively.

  2. Bill Sledzik says:

    I think this story shocked people around the world, perhaps because things like this don’t happen often in the U.S. (though such events are no longer unexpected here). It really hits home for those of us who work on college campuses, and even more so if it’s a campus where student blood has been spilled. Circumstances at Kent State in 1970 were quite different, but the results were the same. The lessons for PR professionals will come soon enough. Maybe I’ll even write one or two of them. But not now.

  3. Judy Gombita says:

    Bill, I thought your students and colleagues on faculty might find Ivor Tossell’s column in today’s Globe and Mail of particular interest:

    Victims’ pages: messages but no answers
    As thousands of people searched for Web pages about the shooting, anger and recriminations ran rampant

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20070420.wgtweb20/BNStory/Technology/

  4. […] Searching for lessons in Virginia Tech tragedy ?Circumstances at Kent State in 1970 were quite different, but the results were the same. The lessons for PR professionals will come soon enough. … […]

